Woman on Food Stamps Lives off $29 a week in Simulation of her Actual Budget

In an effort to raise awareness of the difficulties of life on food stamps, Walmart employee and single mother-of-three Susan Kelly will continue to feed herself and each member of her family on $29 a week.

Susan told us she got the idea from recent celebrity activism, “When I saw that Gwyneth Paltrow was going to live on $29 for a week, I thought that maybe I should get involved too. She’s so brave to do this and subject herself to that hardship. Plus she spent like half of her budget on Limes.”

87th Annual Academy Awards - ArrivalsScreen Shot 2015-04-13 at 12.28.09 PM

Susan and her family receive a monthly SNAP (Food Stamps) benefit of $496.8, which amounts to $4.14 a day, per person.  Susan said she and her family are excited to give this whole food stamp challenge a try.

“I told the kids and their eyes just lit up. They were so excited to see if they could do it. My son John even helped me post our progress on social media! I think the before and after will really show people just how bad things could be!”

SNAP 3SNAP 3

“I just couldn’t even believe living on this every week. I felt guilty because I was so relieved once the week was over and I could go back to my usual $29.”

Susan said the experience gave her a new respect for celebrities.

“Without events like this and national leaders like Gwyneth Paltrow, we’d never be able to draw attention to this issue. I mean if you google food stamps now, Gwyneth Paltrow comes up. Now you tell me that isn’t progress.”

Screen Shot 2015-04-13 at 12.15.57 PM

She went on to suggest a solution: “If only we could get the 46.3 million people on SNAP benefits right now to take part in this challenge, then maybe we could get people to wake up and smell the coffee* “

Susan said that she had so much with this challenge that she was thinking of trying the minimum-wage challenge next, in order to simulate what it would be like to live off of a Walmart salary of $9/hour.

*Coffee would likely not be affordable on average SNAP benefits

Leave a Reply

